Invest in ASEAN


Association of Southeast Asian Nations (Association of Southeast Asian Nations-ASEAN), referred to as ASEAN (ASEAN). The member countries are Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, the Philippines, Singapore, Brunei, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar and Cambodia. Its predecessor was the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), established in Bangkok on 31 July 1961 by Malaya (now Malaysia), the Philippines and Thailand.

On August 7-8, 1967, the foreign ministers of Indonesia, Thailand, Singapore, the Philippines and the Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia met in Bangkok. The Bangkok Declaration (Declaration on the Establishment of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations) was issued, formally announcing the establishment of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN). On November 12, 2018, the countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) signed an ASEAN e-commerce agreement in Singapore. ASEAN has become a political, economic and security integration cooperation organization based on economic cooperation in Southeast Asia, and has established a series of cooperation mechanisms.

The purpose and goal of ASEAN is to jointly promote economic growth, social progress and cultural development in the region in a spirit of equality and cooperation, and to lay the foundation for the establishment of a prosperous and peaceful Community of Southeast Asian Nations. To promote peace and stability in the region.

At the beginning of its establishment, ASEAN was only an alliance to defend its own security interests and maintain strategic relations with the West, and its activities were limited to economic, cultural and other cooperation. In February 1976, the first ASEAN summit was held in Bali, Indonesia, where it signed the Treaty of Friendship and Cooperation in Southeast Asia and the Bali Declaration, which emphasizes the coordination and unity of ASEAN countries.

Since then, ASEAN countries have strengthened cooperation in the political, economic and military fields, and adopted practical economic development strategies to promote rapid economic growth and gradually become a regional organization with certain influence. 

In addition to the five founding members of Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, after the 1980s, Brunei (1984), Vietnam (1995), Laos (1997), Myanmar (1997) and Cambodia (1999) joined ASEAN one after another. To make this organization cover the entire Southeast Asian region. 

ASEAN was founded to form a group of 10 countries with a population of more than 500 million and an area of 4.5 million square kilometers. Papua New Guinea is its observer State. The 10 ASEAN dialogue partners are Australia, Canada, China, the European Union, India, Japan, New Zealand, Russia, South Korea and the United States.



                                                                              China-ASEAN Relations (10+1)

C东盟.jpghina-ASEAN Free Trade area (English: China-ASEAN Free Trade Area, abbreviation: CAFTA), or ASEAN 10), Refers to a free trade zone composed of the people's Republic of China and the 10 member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations: Brunei, the Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Singapore, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia and Myanmar. It was fully launched on 1 January 2010.

The China-ASEAN Free Trade area, with a population of 1.9 billion, a gross domestic product of nearly US $6 trillion and a total trade volume of US $4.5 trillion, is the most populous free trade area in the world. It is also the third largest free trade area in the world after the European Union and the North American Free Trade area (NAFTA).

At the Fifth China-ASEAN leaders' meeting held in Brunei in November 2001, China and ASEAN reached a consensus and agreed to establish a China-ASEAN Free Trade area (CAFTA).

In November 2002, at the sixth China-ASEAN leaders' meeting, Chinese Premier Zhu Rongji and leaders of the 10 ASEAN member countries jointly signed the China-ASEAN Framework Agreement on Comprehensive Economic Cooperation and decided to establish the China-ASEAN Free Trade area by 2010.

On January 1, 2010, the China-ASEAN Free Trade area was fully launched, and China's average tariff on ASEAN was reduced from 8.8% to 0.1%.

Live Chat

Free Hotline